Blog https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/all?date%5Bmin%5D=&date%5Bmax%5D= Blog listing, showing all blog posts. en <a href="/blog/guest/gardening-wildlife-autumn" hreflang="en">Gardening for wildlife this autumn</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/guest/gardening-wildlife-autumn Our friends at Vine House Farm share their top tips for wildlife gardening this autumn! Wed, 30 Sep 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Guest https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/guest/gardening-wildlife-autumn <a href="/blog/andy-wadds/managing-grasslands-ponies-and-rakes" hreflang="en">Managing grasslands with ponies and rakes</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/andy-wadds/managing-grasslands-ponies-and-rakes A round-up from our northern reserves over late summer saw grassland management and exciting plans for Shibdon Pond and Meadows. Wed, 30 Sep 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Andy Wadds https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/andy-wadds/managing-grasslands-ponies-and-rakes <a href="/blog/durham-wildlife-trust/living-spiders" hreflang="en">Living with spiders</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/durham-wildlife-trust/living-spiders Every autumn, headlines warn about spiders invading our homes. But what’s the real story with our eight-legged neighbours? Mon, 28 Sep 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Durham Wildlife Trust https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/durham-wildlife-trust/living-spiders <a href="/blog/kirsty-pollard/critters-condo" hreflang="en">A Critters Condo</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/kirsty-pollard/critters-condo It’s that time of year when our homes become a hubbub of activity with many of our smallest citizens making their way across our thresholds. Wed, 16 Sep 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Kirsty Pollard https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/kirsty-pollard/critters-condo <a href="/blog/durham-wildlife-trust/secret-world-fungi" hreflang="en">The secret world of fungi</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/durham-wildlife-trust/secret-world-fungi What do you think of when you hear the word fungi? For some thoughts might turn to mouth-watering mushrooms, carefully foraged from a supermarket shelf. For others it might conjure images of fairy tales, pixies perched proudly on the red and white caps of towering toadstools. But there’s so much more to these otherworldly organisms than meets the eye. Mon, 14 Sep 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Durham Wildlife Trust https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/durham-wildlife-trust/secret-world-fungi <a href="/blog/rachel-richards/wildlife-barnard-castle-june-2020" hreflang="en">The Wildlife of Barnard Castle - June 2020</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/rachel-richards/wildlife-barnard-castle-june-2020 Take a virtual tour of the wildlife around Barnard Castle. Wed, 09 Sep 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Rachel Richards https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/rachel-richards/wildlife-barnard-castle-june-2020 <a href="/blog/phill-catton/caterpillar-curriculum" hreflang="en">The Caterpillar Curriculum</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/phill-catton/caterpillar-curriculum A Case Study in Managing Change with Style Mon, 03 Aug 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Phill Catton https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/phill-catton/caterpillar-curriculum <a href="/blog/kirsty-pollard/secret-life-bracken" hreflang="en">The Secret Life of Bracken...</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/kirsty-pollard/secret-life-bracken ...and A Little Help from Our Swedish Friend, by Kirsty Pollard – Heart of Durham Conservation Officer Mon, 20 Jul 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Kirsty Pollard https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/kirsty-pollard/secret-life-bracken <a href="/blog/kirsty-pollard/these-jewels-are-back-wing" hreflang="en">These Jewels Are Back On The Wing!</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/kirsty-pollard/these-jewels-are-back-wing The 2020 emergence of the small pearl-bordered fritillary butterflies Wed, 10 Jun 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Kirsty Pollard https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/kirsty-pollard/these-jewels-are-back-wing <a href="/blog/mark-dinning/orchids-durham-wildlife-trust" hreflang="en">Orchids of Durham Wildlife Trust</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/mark-dinning/orchids-durham-wildlife-trust A round-up of the Durham Wildlife Trust orchids Mon, 08 Jun 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Mark Dinning https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/mark-dinning/orchids-durham-wildlife-trust <a href="/blog/phill-catton/getting-know-neighbours" hreflang="en">Getting to know the neighbours</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/phill-catton/getting-know-neighbours A lockdown lesson in appreciating the wildlife on your doorstep Mon, 11 May 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Phill Catton https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/phill-catton/getting-know-neighbours <a href="/blog/kirsty-pollard/business-usual-derwent-reservoirs-grassland-plants" hreflang="en">‘Business as Usual’ for Derwent Reservoir’s Grassland Plants </a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/kirsty-pollard/business-usual-derwent-reservoirs-grassland-plants Derwent Reservoir, the second largest reservoir in the North East, boasts a spectacular assemblage of plants across a diverse range of habitats surrounding its banks. Thu, 30 Apr 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Kirsty Pollard https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/kirsty-pollard/business-usual-derwent-reservoirs-grassland-plants <a href="/blog/mandy-bell/april-walk-around-rainton-meadows" hreflang="en">An April walk around Rainton Meadows</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/mandy-bell/april-walk-around-rainton-meadows Spring sightings around the nature reserve Wed, 29 Apr 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Mandy Bell https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/mandy-bell/april-walk-around-rainton-meadows <a href="/blog/rachel-richards/peaceful-time-watch-wildlife" hreflang="en">A peaceful time to watch wildlife</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/rachel-richards/peaceful-time-watch-wildlife The peace and quiet created by the reduction in traffic allows us to really savour nature’s spring chorus. Tue, 14 Apr 2020 13:00:00 +0100 Rachel Richards https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/rachel-richards/peaceful-time-watch-wildlife <a href="/blog/rachel-richards/winter-wildlife-low-barns" hreflang="en">Winter wildlife at Low Barns</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/rachel-richards/winter-wildlife-low-barns Low Barns nature reserve is just such a fantastic spot, whatever your cup of tea: be it a leg stretching walk, a laid-back stroll, a calming spell sitting in a hide with a flask and a camera or a coffee in the café while family do the walking and bird spotting for you. Tue, 03 Mar 2020 12:00:00 +0000 Rachel Richards https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/rachel-richards/winter-wildlife-low-barns <a href="/blog/anne-porter/creating-hibernacula" hreflang="en">Creating a hibernacula</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/anne-porter/creating-hibernacula Durham Wildlife Trust’s Heart of Durham Project volunteers in partnership with Northumbrian Water have created an artificial hibernacula on Pow Hill Heath, on the south side of Derwent Reservoir. Tue, 11 Feb 2020 12:00:00 +0000 Anne Porter https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/anne-porter/creating-hibernacula <a href="/blog/rachel-richards/little-bit-wilder-low-barns" hreflang="en">A little bit wilder at Low Barns</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/rachel-richards/little-bit-wilder-low-barns December and January have been very busy and exciting months working with families, children and young people at Low Barns. Mon, 03 Feb 2020 12:00:00 +0000 Rachel Richards https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/rachel-richards/little-bit-wilder-low-barns <a href="/blog/anne-porter/tow-law-millennium-school-green-leaders-jump-action" hreflang="en">Tow Law Millennium School ‘Green Leaders’ jump into action</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/anne-porter/tow-law-millennium-school-green-leaders-jump-action With a National Tree Week grant from Durham County Council, hedging plants and trees were purchased to complete the hedge around Thornley Wood just below Tow Law. Wed, 29 Jan 2020 12:00:00 +0000 Anne Porter https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/anne-porter/tow-law-millennium-school-green-leaders-jump-action <a href="/blog/durham-wildlife-trust/getting-perfect-picture-ethical-way" hreflang="en">Getting the perfect picture the ethical way</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/durham-wildlife-trust/getting-perfect-picture-ethical-way The sharing of amazing wildlife photography has never been easier in the age of social media, but does every photographer adhere to ethical guidelines when it comes to getting the perfect picture? Wed, 01 Jan 2020 12:00:00 +0000 Durham Wildlife Trust https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/durham-wildlife-trust/getting-perfect-picture-ethical-way <a href="/blog/guest/how-have-eco-christmas" hreflang="en">How To Have An Eco-Christmas</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/guest/how-have-eco-christmas Whether you celebrate a big family Christmas, or you just give out a few cards to your friends and neighbours to wish them a happy time, here are some quick tips for a greener Christmas! Tue, 10 Dec 2019 12:00:00 +0000 Guest https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/guest/how-have-eco-christmas <a href="/blog/dwt-botany-group/botany-group-bryophyte-walk" hreflang="en">Botany Group Bryophyte Walk</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/dwt-botany-group/botany-group-bryophyte-walk Bryophyte walk at Castle Eden Dene, Sun. 24th November 2019, report by Lesley Hodgson Mon, 09 Dec 2019 12:00:00 +0000 DWT Botany Group https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/dwt-botany-group/botany-group-bryophyte-walk <a href="/blog/guest/wildlife-gardening-winter" hreflang="en">Wildlife Gardening in Winter</a> https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/guest/wildlife-gardening-winter We thought it would be useful to share some interesting and useful advice from our bird food partner, Vine House Farm, for anyone with a wildlife garden – or indeed anyone thinking about making their garden more wildlife friendly for the first time. So this is what they had to say . . . Tue, 03 Dec 2019 12:00:00 +0000 Guest https://www.durhamwt.com/blog/guest/wildlife-gardening-winter